Home Page

Sturton by Stow Primary School

Equality Information and the Protected Characteristics


The Equality Act became law in 2010. It covers everyone in Britain and protects people from discrimination, harassment and victimisation. Under the Equality Act, there are nine Protected Characteristics:

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Race
  5. Religion or belief
  6. Marriage or civil partnership
  7. Sex
  8. Sexual orientation
  9. Pregnancy and maternity


Under the Equality Act you are protected from discrimination:

  • When you are in the workplace
  • When you use public services like healthcare (for example, visiting your doctor or local hospital) or education (for example, at your school or college)
  • When you use businesses and other organisations that provide services and goods (like shops, restaurants, and cinemas)
  • When you use transport
  • When you join a club or association (for example, your local tennis club)
  • When you have contact with public bodies like your local council or government departments


The 9 Protected Characteristics are actively promoted in school through:

  • Our Values
  • Our school behaviour policy
  • Conscious role modelling by all adults in the school community
  • Active engagement and communication with parents and carers
  • Assemblies
  • The British Values
  • Personal, Social, Health and Economic education (PSHE) lessons
  • Religious Education (RE) lessons
  • Sporting, Art and Cultural Events
  • Pupil Voice
  • Educational visits
  • Guest speakers
  • Developing links with local, national and international communities
  • Extra-curricular activities, after-school clubs, charity work and work within the local community
  • Our whole curriculum


Our Values and Ethos Promote:

  • Self-esteem, self-knowledge and self-confidence
  • A respect for democracy and support for participation in the democratic process
  • An acceptance of responsibility for their own behaviour
  • A strong sense of respect for their own and other cultures
  • An understanding of how they can contribute positively to school and our community, both local and global
  • An understanding of equality, diversity and human rights
  • An understanding of how citizens can influence decision-making through the democratic process
  • An appreciation that living under the rule of law protects individual citizens and is essential for their wellbeing and safety
  • An understanding that the freedom to choose and hold other faiths and beliefs is protected in law
  • An acceptance that other people having different faiths or beliefs to oneself (or having none) should be accepted and tolerated, and should not be the cause of prejudicial or discriminatory behaviour
  • An understanding of the importance of identifying and combating discrimination


The characteristics are taught across school in an age appropriate way. Not all characteristics are taught in every year group. 

Below is a copy of our school's Reading Spine with the texts we use across school to encourage positive discussion related to PSHE and the Protected Characteristics. 

Sturton by Stow Primary School